Lo Fun

A week ago I was driving across Ohio and New York state, listening to NPR. Thinking if we could just get this election over with, we could get back to real life.

A week ago, the leaves were blazing red, gold and orange. The sky was blue. My biggest worry felt like how to print more tea towels and let people know about my upcoming shows.

A week ago I was thinking back over a weekend of playing and singing and songwriting with a group of strangers who’d become friends. I flashed on their faces, hands on guitars, words and music they put together out of love. I reflected on the beauty of northern Michigan, and the country I live in.

A week ago I carried a container of leftover Chinese noodles in the front seat of the car next to me, as a talisman. It hadn’t been good in the restaurant and it wasn’t going to get any better riding in the car, but “just in case” I carried it with me, across four states.

A week ago I returned home to a clean kitchen and nice meal courtesy of Eric. I felt like a lucky lady.

A week ago I got up on election day and tried to pull myself back together after two weeks of travel. I voted on the way to the laundromat. Our neighbor shouted across the row of tables: “Nice paint job on the house!” and gave me a big thumbs up. We’d finally managed to get help painting the peeling parts of our house. Small town life, there is no anonymity. The whole polling place turned to look at me. I wondered how the neighbors voted.

A week ago it all seemed mildly amusing, when it wasn’t infuriating.

A week ago a friend said “Don’t worry, there’s no way Trump will win” when I was cooking dinner and we were sitting down to eat.

A week ago I lost my appetite.

A week ago Martin Stone was still alive.

A week ago Leonard Cohen was still alive.

A week ago, Leon Russell was still alive.

A week ago, Billy Miller was still alive.

I threw the Chinese food away.

The leaves are dead now.

The unthinkable has happened. This country has elected a joke as president.

I still have to print tea towels and let people know about the shows I’m playing, but I can’t stop looking at the news, Facebook and Twitter, and wondering what to do about the future.

This is real life.

I wish it was still a week ago. I wish I hadn’t thrown the Chinese food away.

img_0961
Sunrise Nov 6

Let’s hold each other. I’ll be playing and singing to celebrate the 20th anniversary and vinyl release of my debut solo album Diary Of A Mod Housewife:

21 thoughts on “Lo Fun

  1. Steve Gibson

    “A week ago it all seemed mildly amusing, when it wasn’t infuriating.”

    Pretty much sums it up for me, too. Now, it’s no fun. I don’t know when it will ever be fun again, even four years from now. If we make it that far. :/

  2. Paul Heaton

    Hi Amy,

    This might help!

    I am really sorry to see my countrymen trouble themselves about politics. If men were wise, the most arbitrary princes could not hurt them. If they are not wise, the freest government is compelled to be a tyranny. Princes appear to me to be fools. Houses of Commons and Houses of Lords appear to me to be fools; they seem to me to be something else besides human life.

    William Blake

    Maybe catch you in Levenshulme on December 2nd!

    Cheers, Paul.

    ________________________________

    1. amyrigby

      Wow. Another one I saw today, from HL Mencken: “As democracy is perfected, the office represents, more and more closely, the inner soul of the people. We move toward a lofty ideal. On some great and glorious day the plain folks of the land will reach their heart’s desire at last and the White House will be adorned by a downright moron.”
      Wish either of these quotes made me feel better!
      Hope to see you in December Paul.

      1. Victoria Read

        Absolutely. But also – organize. March in Washington 1/21/17, donate to organizations which support the things we believe in, volunteer our time, take care of each other.

  3. katepflynn

    Yes. You captured it. The utter defeat. Went off FB, can’t listen to news. Just hunkering down and will go door-to-door in two years. Listening to my two new albums by you and Eric and can’t wait for my tea towel which I’m having turned into an apron!

    1. amyrigby

      I alternate between needing to look away and feeling like if I better keep watching to be prepared for who knows what. A tea towel apron, great idea from you, so creative Kate! Printing more on Tuesday. x

Leave a Reply

